Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders – Call for Nominations

The Martin Ennals Award is an annual award which aims to recognise individuals, or exceptionally organisations, who are working in conditions hostile to fundamental human rights, at risk, and in need of protection.

Nominations are welcome from all regions, genders, and human rights related themes. The Martin Ennals Foundation, which hands out the award, states that they take a broad view of what a human rights defender is. Special account is taken of those who combat human rights violations by courageous and innovative means.

In order to be eligible for nomination, the human rights defender must currently be active in the promotion and protection of human rights, work with non-violent means, and be demonstrably at risk. This could include physical danger, repressive legal processes, or other forms of harassment.

Nominations for the 2018 Martin Ennals Award close on 9 November 2017. Submit your nomination electronically here.

Three finalists will be selected by the Jury of the Martin Ennals Foundation and announced early in 2018. The laureate is selected among them. All three finalists will be invited to participate in the ceremony which is hosted by the city of Geneva in late 2018.

Civil Rights Defenders is one of the members of the Award’s Panel of Regional NGOs and supports the Jury with regional knowledge. The Jury consists of the following ten NGOs:

  • Amnesty International
  • EWDE Germany
  • FIDH
  • Front Line Defenders
  • Human Rights First
  • Human Rights Watch
  • International Commission of Jurists
  • International Service for Human Rights
  • World Organisation against Torture

In 2017, the Martin Ennals Award for human rights defenders was received by Mohamed Zaree from Egypt. He is a devoted human rights defender and legal scholar whose work focuses on human rights advocacy and freedom of expression and association.

The two other finalists who received Martin Ennals Prizes were Karla Avelar who founded El Salvador’s first organisation of transgender women, and FreeThe5KH – five Cambodian human rights defenders who were arbitrarily imprisoned as a consequence of their human rights work.

Remember to submit your nomination for the 2018 Martin Ennals Award before 9 November 2017.

Categories: News.
Tags: Martin Ennals Award.
Regions: All regions.