Joint Mobile Group awarded the Martin Ennals Award

Igor Kalyapin Photo: Martin Ennals Award

Igor Kalyapin Photo: Martin Ennals Award

The Joint Mobile Group from Russia has been awarded the 2013 Martin Ennals Award. The award is given to Human Rights Defenders who show deep commitment and face great personal risk. The aim of the award is to provide protection through international recognition. Civil Rights Defenders, who nominated the Joint Mobile Group, is proud and happy that their important work has been recognized.

About the Joint Mobile Group, Russia: After the murder of several human rights activists working in Chechnya in 2009, Igor Kalyapin chairman of Civil Rights Defenders’ partner organisation Committee against torture initiated the Joint Mobile Group. Instead of being permanently present in Chechnya, the idea was to send investigators on short missions to document Human Rights abuses. The information has then been used to seek legal redress.

Igor Kalyapin speaking of the effect of international publicity said   “… when the international community is watching us it is more difficult for the authorities to take steps against us…” 

Micheline Calmy-Rey, Chair, Martin Ennals Foundation said “The choice of the Jury has again shown that human rights defenders are the most crucial actors and can make a difference on the ground”

The Jury also selected two recipients of the New Martin Ennals Prizes

Mona Seif, Egypt: Core founder of the” No To Military Trials for Civilians”, Mona has brought together activists, lawyers, victims’ families, local stakeholders and started a nationwide movement against military trials.

Mario Joseph, referred to as Haiti’s most important Human Rights lawyer, he has worked on some of the most important cases in Haiti, including the current case against the former dictator Jean-Claude “Baby Doc” Duvalier.

The Martin Ennals Award for Human Rights Defenders (MEA) is a unique collaboration among ten of the world’s leading human rights organizations. Civil Rights Defenders is part of a regional panel, who act as advisor and supporter for that region. The Jury is composed of the following NGOs:

– Amnesty International,
– Human Rights Watch,
– Human Rights First,
– Int’l Federation for Human Rights,
– World Organisation Against Torture,
– Front Line Defenders
– International Commission of Jurists,
– German Diakonie,
– International Service for Human Rights

Electronic version with Video

For more information, contact:
Joanna Kurosz, Programme Director Eastern Europe and Central Asia, +46 709 89 60 11

Categories: News.
Tags: CAT, Committee Against Torture, Human Rights Defenders, Igor Kalyapin, Joint Mobile Group, Martin Ennals Award, Memorial, Natalia Estemirova, and Violence against human rights defenders.
Regions: Russia.